He began his film career in the 1990s –  after studying history, art history and theater studies and having worked as a landscape architect. He worked in various areas of film production from –  i. e. as production manager, sound designer and assistant editor (e.g. “Der Trinker”, 1995).

Several short films were made autodidactically. After initial successes – Grand Prix Video Danse Paris 1994 and Locarno 1996 – he founded the production company S.U.M.O. Movie.

Between 1996 and 2000, the long-term observation BERLIN BABYLON was made – still shot on 35mm – the first S.U.M.O.-cinema documentary. The film opened the Panorama section of the Berlinale 2001.

In 2004 Hubertus Siegert documented an unusual elementary school class for six months in the film KLASSENLEBEN. For the movie BEYOND PUNISHMENT from 2010 to 2015 he brought murderers and the relatives of their victims in contact with each other in various countries. The film received numerous awards and nominations.

In 2016 he and the young director Götz Schauder produced their first feature film without directing himself: Conduct! Every Move Counts. In 2015, Siegert launched – accompanied by an extensive, specially developed cinema-on-demand campaign – his film DIE KINDER DER UTOPIE, the sequel to KLASSENLEBEN, on just one evening in front of 20,000 viewers in 170 German cinemas.

From 2007 Siegert is involved in the newly founded German Film Academy for the documentary film section and was a member of the board from 2009 to 2017. In 2017-22 he was appointed to the BKM Documentary Film Funding Jury

S.U.M.O. Team

Susanne Bauer
Chief Editor, Senior Producer and Social Media

Rosemarie Klinkhammer
Office Management

Lilli Berger

André Stiebe
Postproduction Management

Frederik Bösing
Edit, Delieveries

S.U.M.O. Crew

For more than 20 years, S.U.M.O. Film stands for innovative and high-quality documentaries – and works i.e. together with the following creatives: Peter Przygodda, Anne Fabini, Heike Parplies, Bernd Euscher, Dirk Grau, Andreas Wondraschke, Thomas Plenert, Marcus Winterbauer, Ralf K. Dobrick, Thomas Eirich-Schneider, Tilman Büttner, Frank Marten Pfeiffer, Jenny Lou Ziegel, Simon Brückner, Josephine Links, Thomas Krinzinger, André Zacher