S.U.M.O. Film Logo
HUBERTUS SIEGERT – AUTHOR, DIRECTOR & PRODUCER

With his first feature length documentary, 2001’s Berlin Babylon, Hubertus Siegert forged a contemporary document about the rebuilding of a unified Berlin – both before and after the fall of the Berlin Wall. As a director, he trusts the visual power inherent in the observation of people and places more so than interviews and information. Berlin Babylon was the opening film in the Panorama section at the 2001 Berlin International Film Festival.

In his 2005 documentary Klassenleben (85 min), twenty students are observed in a Berlin fifth grade class, a class in which both highly gifted children, as well as those who are badly disabled, are taught. The film avoids the perspective of the teacher and instead observes school daily life solely from the viewpoint of the children.

In 2009 and 2013, Hubertus Siegert was as a segment director on the productions 24h Berlin and 24h Jerusalem. In the 24-hour TV Berlin production, he portrays one day in the life of Kurt L., a murderer serving a twenty-year sentence in Tegel Prison. This encounter with L. was the initial spark for the ideas behind BEYOND PUNISHMENT. BEYOND PUNISHMENT is the first international documentary of S.U.M.O and was released 2015.

Hubertus Siegert is a Berlin film producer, author and director. He was born in 1959 in Duesseldorf.

He studied history, art history, theater and film at the Free University Berlin, and also completed a degree in landscape architecture at Berlin Technical University. In 1992, he founded the production company S.U.M.O. Film and produced several short films in the following years.

In 2014, Hubertus Siegert produced the music documentary Conduct! Every Move Counts (88 min). Goetz Schauder directed this film about the Frankfurt „International Solti Competition“ for young conductors.

Starting in April 2009, Hubertus Siegert became an ‚vice’ board member of the German Film Academy and has been a full board member since February 2013.

Filmography

Hubertus Siegert << back

S.U.M.O. Film Logo
HUBERTUS SIEGERT – AUTOR, REGISSEUR & PRODUZENT


Mit seinem ersten abendfüllenden Kinodokumentarfilm Berlin Babylon, gelingt es Hubertus Siegert im Jahre 2001, ein Zeitdokument über das Vorher und Nachher des Umbaus der Stadt im wiedervereinten Berlin nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer zu erstellen. Er setzt dabei auf die visuelle Kraft der Beobachtung von Personen und Orten anstatt auf Interviews und Information. Berlin Babylon ist Eröffnungsfilm in der Sektion Panorama bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Berlin 2001.

2004 realisierte er mit Klassenleben einen Dokumentarfilm für das Kino – mit zwanzig Kindern einer fünften Grundschulklasse in Berlin, in der sowohl hochbegabte Kinder als auch schwer behinderte zusammen unterrichtet werden. Der Film begleitet die Kinder auf Augenhöhe, sensibel und genau beobachtend.

2009 und 2013 war er an den Produktionen 24h Berlin und 24h Jerusalem als segment director beteiligt. In der 24-stündigen Fernsehdokumentation aus Berlin zeigt er das Leben des zu lebenslanger Haft verurteilten Kurt Lummert in der Justizvollzugsanstalt Tegel. Diese Dokumentation war die Initialzündung für BEYOND PUNISHMENT, dem ersten internationalen Dokumentarfilm von S.U.M.O. FILM, der 2015 veröffentlicht wurde.

Hubertus Siegert ist Berliner Filmproduzent, Autor und Regisseur. Er wird 1959 in Düsseldorf geboren. Neben Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte, Theater und Film an der Freien Universität Berlin studierte er zudem Landschaftsarchitektur an der Technischen Universität Berlin. 1992 gründet Hubertus Siegert die Produktionsfirma, S.U.M.O. Film und produziert in den folgenden Jahren einige Kurzfilme.

2014 produzierte Hubertus Siegert den Musikdokumentarfilm Conduct! Jede Bewegung zählt. Götz Schauder dokumentierte den Frankfurter Georg Solti Wettbewerb für junge Dirigenten.

Seit April 2009 ist Hubertus Siegert stellvertretendes Vorstandsmitglied und seit Februar 2013 Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie.

Filmografie

Hubertus Siegert << zurück